858-429-9982 858-429-9982
  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

    Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

    Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

    Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  2. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

    Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

    Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

    The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  3. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

    Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

    Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

    The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  4. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

  2. Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

  3. Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

  4. Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  5. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

  6. Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

  7. Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

  8. The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  9. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  10. Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

  11. Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

  12. The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  13. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

  14. Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

El Cajon Pushing for Ignition Interlock Devices for DUIs. DUI Punishment for El Cajon cases. DUI Attorney Lawyer

How about IIDs in every car?  Lets make it required in every car same as a seatbelt. If this happened there would be no alcohol based DUIs.  I would gladly look to move my practice into other area of law.

But this is not going to happen any time soon.  Insteaad, there is a push to place these into the vehicles of people convicted of DUI.   Being in this field on both the prosecution side and now the defense, I can tell you there is a bit of false sense of security with installing the IIDs.  It also will create more paperwork for the courts.  It will create more clogging of the system of court appearances for non-compliance, modifications, etc.  Huh?  I will explain.

False Sense of Security

The IID device will usually be placed in a persons vehicle for one year.  Most stats show if there is a subsequent prior it is not within the first year.  Most of the people who I work with who have priors had a previous DUI from several years ago.  That first year after a DUI plea the person is going through DUI education classes and is driving on a restricted license.  They are in the midst of jumping through the hoops of the DUI.  Someone usually gets arrested several years after the initial terms of the DUI agreement have been fulfilled and are forgotten.  

There is an immense cost with a DUI.  This would be adding to the amount.  People have trouble paying for a DUI class and fines.  Adding this charge would be a great burden on a lot of people, especially those with limited means.  Most people resolving their DUI did not head to a private attorney.  They had to take the Public Defender because the bail, tow, fines, classes, were enough already.  

Adding the IID to these costs would be an undue burden as a blanket term.  

I know most people say, "cry me a river" to these people because they chose to drink and drive.  However, when people have to get the IID paperwork back to the court that will be more lines and paperwork to the courts. When someone wants an extension on getting the IID on their car because they are trying to put the money together they have to head in front of the judge.  This will add several cases to the docket every day.  The courts are already clogged and struggle to handle the current caseload.  Adding more cases means more tax dollars being spent. 

There is a place in DUI law for the IID.  There are situations where it is absolutely appropriate.  However, making it a part of every DUI will bring undue burdens for the public and those who plead to the charge without bringing in the safety it portrays to bring.  Below is the article about El Cajon and their position on IIDs.  It will be interesting to see how this issue evolves.

iid3.jpg

The El Cajon City Council is looking into how it can help incorporate car-locking systems for DUI offenders in California.

At the March 22 City Council meeting, the council unanimously agreed that the city should support any state legislation that would require those who have driven under the influence of alcohol and who have been cited to have a car-locking system installed in their vehicles.

The system has an ignition interlock device the size of a cell phone that requires a person to blow into it for a blood-alcohol content reading. Only if the reading is below the legal limit will the device allow the ignition to start.

City Councilman Bob McClellan said in February that he wanted to see legislation introduced that would require the systems for all DUI offenders. There are currently 25 states that have such a law.

El Cajon has always been on the forefront of alcohol issues, says El Cajon City Councilman Gary Kendrick.

"We are always trying to make our citizens safer," Kendrick said, "and one of the primary threats to our citizens is alcohol abuse. We're hitting that from every way we can."

Kendrick referred to the city's ordinance that holds establishments selling alcohol responsible for not selling liquor to minors and to serial inebriates.

"(The) ordinance is the toughest law on alcohol in state of California," Kendrick said. "We continue to be on the cutting edge in protecting our citizens, and want to protect them from drunk drivers, who can kill anyone. If we could pass that (ignition interlocking device) law for the people in El Cajon, we probably would have done it already."

Brett Channing, assistant to the El Cajon city manager, delivered a report to the council at the March meeting that explained some of the details about the system. In February, Mothers Against Drunk Driving published a report that said that these types of car-locking systems since 1999 have stopped more than 1.77 million people from driving drunk.

According to El Cajon police, in 2015 there were 97 DUI arrests and 75 alcohol-related accidents, including one fatality, in the city. Forty of the accidents resulted in major injuries and 48 led to property damages.

In California, ignition interlocking devices for drunken drivers is left to the discretion of a judge, Channing said.

A pilot program created by Assembly Bill 91 from 2010 made it mandatory for everyone convicted of a DUI in Los Angeles, Alameda, Tulare and Sacramento counties to install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle they own and operate. That pilot program is set to expire in 2017, Channing said.

There is new legislation to expand the pilot program statewide in 2017 through Senate Bill 1046, introduced by Sen. Jerry Hill of the Bay Area. That bill, coauthored in part by Sen. Marty Block, was scheduled to be heard March 29 at the Senate Committee Public Safety.

The full article can be found here.

Below is the language of the bill that is being proposed.

BILL NUMBER: SB 1046 AMENDED BILL TEXT AMENDED IN SENATE MARCH 17, 2016 INTRODUCED BY Senator Hill (Coauthors: Senators Anderson, Bates, Block, Cannella, Roth, and Vidak) (Coauthors: Assembly Members Baker, Bonilla, Chávez, Cooley, Eduardo Garcia, Lackey, Levine, Lopez, Maienschein, Rodriguez, and Waldron) FEBRUARY 12, 2016 An act to amend Sections 13386 and 23103.5 of, to amend, repeal, and add Sections 13352, 13352.4, 13353.3, 13353.4, 13353.5, 23247, 23573, 23575, 23576, and 23597 of, and to add Sections 13353.6, 23575.3, and 23575.5 to, the Vehicle Code, relating to ignition interlock devices. LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST SB 1046, as amended, Hill. Driving under the influence: ignition interlock device. Existing law requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to immediately suspend a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time if the person has driven a motor vehicle when the person had a certain blood-alcohol concentration. Existing law authorizes certain individuals, whose privilege is suspended pursuant to that provision to receive a restricted driver's license if specified requirements are met, including the completion of specified periods of license suspension or revocation. Existing law also requires the department to immediately suspend or revoke a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle if the person has been convicted of violating specified provisions prohibiting driving a motor vehicle under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or drug or the combined influence of an alcoholic beverage and drug, or with 0.08% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood or while addicted to the use of any drug, with or without bodily injury to another. Existing law authorizes certain individuals whose privilege is suspended or revoked pursuant to that provision to receive a restricted driver's license if specified requirements are met, including the completion of specified periods of license suspension or revocation and, in some instances, the installation of an ignition interlock device on the person's vehicle. Existing law does not permit a person who has been convicted of a first offense of driving a motor vehicle under the influence, with injury, to receive a restricted driver's license. Existing law also requires the Department of Motor Vehicles to establish a pilot program from July 1, 2010, to July 1, 2017, inclusive, in the Counties of Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare that requires, as a condition of being issued a restricted driver's license, being reissued a driver's license, or having the privilege to operate a motor vehicle reinstated subsequent to a conviction for any violation of the above offenses, a person to install for a specified period of time an ignition interlock device on all vehicles he or she owns or operates. The amount of time the ignition interlock device is required to be installed is based upon the number of convictions, as prescribed. Effective July 1, 2017, the bill would make an individual whose license has been suspended for driving a motor vehicle when he or she has a certain blood-alcohol concentration and who is eligible for a restricted driver's license eligible for a restricted driver's license without serving any period of the suspension if the person meets all other eligibility requirements and the person installs an ignition interlock device. The bill would authorize that individual to install an ignition interlock device prior to the effective date of the suspension. The bill would require the department to immediately reinstate the suspension of the privilege to operate a motor vehicle upon receipt of notification that a person has engaged in certain activities, including, among others, attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the ignition interlock device. The bill would also require a person who has been convicted of driving a motor vehicle under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, as specified, to install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles that he or she owns or operates for a specified period of time. The bill would also authorize a person convicted of driving a motor vehicle under the influence, including a person who was convicted of a first offense of driving a motor vehicle under the influence, with injury, if all other requirements are satisfied, including the installation of an ignition interlock device, to apply for a restricted driver's license without completing a period of license suspension or revocation. The bill would authorize a court to require a person convicted of a specified type of reckless driving to install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and prohibit that person from operating a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device for a specified period of time. The bill would require the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue a report to the Legislature by June 1, 2021, regarding the implementation and efficacy of these provisions. The bill would also make conforming and clarifying changes. By specifying that certain crimes relating to ignition interlock devices apply when an ignition interlock device is installed pursuant to the provisions of this bill, this bill would impose a state-mandated local program. The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state. Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement. This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason. Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: yes. State-mandated local program: yes. THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: SECTION 1. Section 13352 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13352. (a) The department shall immediately suspend or revoke the privilege of a person to operate a motor vehicle upon the receipt of an abstract of the record of a court showing that the person has been convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1, or upon the receipt of a report of a judge of the juvenile court, a juvenile traffic hearing officer, or a referee of a juvenile court showing that the person has been found to have committed a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1. If an offense specified in this section occurs in a vehicle defined in Section 15210, the suspension or revocation specified in this subdivision applies also also applies to the noncommercial driving privilege. The commercial driving privilege shall be disqualified as specified in Sections 15300 to 15302, inclusive. For the purposes of this section, suspension or revocation shall be as follows: (1) Except as required under Section 13352.1 or 13352.4, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23536, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of six months. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538 of this code. If the court, as authorized under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 23646, elects to order a person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, the department shall require that program in lieu of the program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. (2) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23554, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of one year. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23556 of this code. If the court, as authorized under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 23646, elects to order a person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, the department shall require that program in lieu of the program described in Section 23556. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. (3) Except as provided in Section 13352.5, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23540, the privilege shall be suspended for two years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542 of this code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restriction of the driving privilege if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) Completion of 12 months of the suspension period, or completion of 90 days of the suspension period if the underlying conviction did not include the use of drugs as defined in Section 312 and the person was found to be only under the influence of an alcoholic beverage at the time of the violation. (B) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (C) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (B). (D) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (E) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (F) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (G) The person pays all reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (I) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (f) of Section 23575. (4) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23560, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years. The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, and the person gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23562 of this code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that after the completion of 12 months of the revocation period, which may include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) The initial 12 months of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) The initial 12 months of a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (G) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (f) of Section 23575. (5) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23546, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person files proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 23548 of this code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license, which may include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) Completion of 12 months of the suspension period, or completion of six months of the suspension period if the underlying conviction did not include the use of drugs as defined in Section 312 and the person was found to be only under the influence of an alcoholic beverage at the time of the violation. (B) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (C) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (B). (D) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (E) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (F) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (G) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23546 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (H) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (I) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (J) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (f) of Section 23575. (6) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23550.5 or 23566, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of five years. The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23568 of this code, or if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that after completion of 12 months of the revocation period, which may include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Completion of the initial 12 months of a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (ii) Completion of the initial 12 months of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23566 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (G) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (f) of Section 23575. (7) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23550 or 23550.5, or of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23550.5, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of four years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person files proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that after completion of 12 months of the revocation period, which may include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) The initial 12 months of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) The initial 12 months of a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23550 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (G) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (f) of Section 23575. (8) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a) of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (e) of that section or Section 23109.1, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of 90 days to six months, if ordered by the court. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (9) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a) of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (f) of that section, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of six months, if ordered by the court. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (b) For the purpose of paragraphs (2) to (9), inclusive, of subdivision (a), the finding of the juvenile court judge, the juvenile hearing officer, or the referee of a juvenile court of a commission of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1, as specified in subdivision (a) of this section, is a conviction. (c) A judge of a juvenile court, juvenile hearing officer, or referee of a juvenile court shall immediately report the findings specified in subdivision (a) to the department. (d) A conviction of an offense in a state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or Canada that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23152, is a conviction of Section 23152 for the purposes of this section, and a conviction of an offense that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23153, is a conviction of Section 23153 for the purposes of this section. The department shall suspend or revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to this section upon receiving notice of that conviction. (e) For the purposes of the restriction conditions specified in paragraphs (3) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a), the department shall terminate the restriction imposed pursuant to this section and shall suspend or revoke the person's driving privilege upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The person's driving privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the remaining period of the original suspension or revocation imposed under this section and until all reinstatement requirements described in this section are met. (f) For the purposes of this section, completion of a program is the following: (1) Satisfactory completion of all program requirements approved pursuant to program licensure, as evidenced by a certificate of completion issued, under penalty of perjury, by the licensed program. (2) Certification, under penalty of perjury, by the director of a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code, that the person has completed a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. (g) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege under this section is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized under paragraphs (3) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a). (h) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 2. Section 13352 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13352. (a) The department shall immediately suspend or revoke the privilege of a person to operate a motor vehicle upon the receipt of an abstract of the record of a court showing that the person has been convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1, or upon the receipt of a report of a judge of the juvenile court, a juvenile traffic hearing officer, or a referee of a juvenile court showing that the person has been found to have committed a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1. If an offense specified in this section occurs in a vehicle defined in Section 15210, the suspension or revocation specified in this subdivision applies also to the noncommercial driving privilege. The commercial driving privilege shall be disqualified as specified in Sections 15300 to 15302, inclusive. For the purposes of this section, suspension or revocation shall be as follows: (1) Except as required under Section 13352.1 or 13352.4, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23536, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of six months. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538 of this code. If the court, as authorized under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 23646, elects to order a person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, the department shall require that program in lieu of the program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. (2) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23554, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of one year. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23556 of this code. If the court, as authorized under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 23646, elects to order a person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, the department shall require that program in lieu of the program described in Section 23556. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23556 of this code. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, if the court has ordered the person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in that section, in which case the person shall not be required to provide the proof described in clause (i). (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) The person pays all reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (G) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (H) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (3) Except as provided in Section 13352.5, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23540, the privilege shall be suspended for two years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542 of this code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) The person pays all reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (G) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (H) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (4) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23560, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years. The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, and the person gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section 23562 of this code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (G) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (H) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (5) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23546, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person files proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 23548 of this code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23546 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (G) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (I) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (6) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23550.5 or 23566, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of five years. The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23568, or if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23566 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (G) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (I) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (7) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23550 or 23550.5, or of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section 23550.5, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of four years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person files proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment in, participation in, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person that he or she may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license if the person meets all of the following requirements: (A) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the following: (i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment. (ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment. (B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in subparagraph (A). (C) The person complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (F) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section 23550 may also, at any time after sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the court shall order the referral. (G) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (H) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (I) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required in subdivision (e). (8) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a) of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (e) of that section or Section 23109.1, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of 90 days to six months, if ordered by the court. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (9) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a) of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (f) of that section, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of six months, if ordered by the court. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (b) For the purpose of paragraphs (2) to (9), inclusive, of subdivision (a), the finding of the juvenile court judge, the juvenile hearing officer, or the referee of a juvenile court of a commission of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, subdivision (a) of Section 23109, or Section 23109.1, as specified in subdivision (a) of this section, is a conviction. (c) A judge of a juvenile court, juvenile hearing officer, or referee of a juvenile court shall immediately report the findings specified in subdivision (a) to the department. (d) A conviction of an offense in a state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or Canada that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23152, is a conviction of Section 23152 for the purposes of this section, and a conviction of an offense that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23153, is a conviction of Section 23153 for the purposes of this section. The department shall suspend or revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to this section upon receiving notice of that conviction. (e) (1) Except as specified in paragraph (2) or (3), the restriction conditions specified in paragraphs (2) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a) shall remain in effect for at least the remaining period of the original suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements are satisfied. (2) For the purposes of the restriction conditions specified in paragraphs (2) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a), the department shall terminate the restriction imposed pursuant to this section and shall suspend or revoke the person's driving privilege upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The person's driving privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the remaining period of the original suspension or revocation imposed under this section and until all reinstatement requirements described in this section are met. (3) The department shall immediately terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately suspend or revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person who, with respect to an ignition interlock device installed pursuant to Section 23575.3, attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, has the device removed prior to the termination date of the restriction, or fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the device. The privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the remaining period of the originating suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in this section are satisfied. (f) For the purposes of this section, completion of a program is the following: (1) Satisfactory completion of all program requirements approved pursuant to program licensure, as evidenced by a certificate of completion issued, under penalty of perjury, by the licensed program. (2) Certification, under penalty of perjury, by the director of a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code, that the person has completed a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code. (g) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege under this section is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized under paragraphs (3) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a). (h) The reinstatement of the driving privilege pursuant to this section does not abrogate a person's continuing duty to comply with any restriction imposed pursuant to Section 23575.3. (i) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 3. Section 13352.4 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13352.4. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (h), the department shall issue a restricted driver's license to a person whose driver's license was suspended under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1, if the person meets all of the following requirements: (1) Submits proof satisfactory to the department of either of the following, as applicable: (A) Enrollment in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538 of this code. (B) Enrollment in a program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, if the court has ordered the person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in that section, in which case the person shall not be required to provide proof of the enrollment described in subparagraph (A). (2) Submits proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (3) Pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (b) The restriction of the driving privilege shall become effective when the department receives all of the documents and fees required under subdivision (a) and shall remain in effect until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 or 13352.1 have been met, whichever date is later, and may include credit for any suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3. (c) The restriction of the driving privilege shall be limited to the hours necessary for driving to and from the person's place of employment, driving during the course of employment, and driving to and from activities required in the driving-under-the-influence program. (d) Whenever the driving privilege is restricted under this section, proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, shall be maintained for three years. If the person does not maintain that proof of financial responsibility at any time during the restriction, the driving privilege shall be suspended until the proof required under Section 16484 is received by the department. (e) For the purposes of this section, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit may not be given to a program activity completed prior to the date of the current violation. (f) The department shall terminate the restriction issued under this section and shall suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1 immediately upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The privilege shall remain suspended until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or 13352.1, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 or Section 13352.1 have been met, whichever date is later. (g) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1 is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized under this section. (h) If, upon conviction, the court has made the determination, as authorized under subdivision (d) of Section 23536 or paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 23538, to disallow the issuance of a restricted driver's license, the department may not issue a restricted driver's license under this section. (i) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 4. Section 13352.4 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13352.4. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (h), the department shall issue a restricted driver's license to a person whose driver's license was suspended under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1, if the person meets all of the following requirements: (1) Submits proof satisfactory to the department of either of the following: (A) Enrollment in a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538 of this code. (B) Enrollment in a program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542, if the court has ordered the person to enroll in, participate in, and complete either program described in that section, in which case the person shall not be required to provide proof of the enrollment described in subparagraph (A). (2) Complies with subdivision (d) of Section 23575.3, if applicable. (3) Agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3, if applicable. (4) Submits proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (5) Pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (6) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the reasonable costs of administering the requirements of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (b) The restriction of the driving privilege shall become effective when the department receives all of the documents and fees required under subdivision (a) and shall remain in effect until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 or 13352.1 have been met, whichever date is later, and may include credit for any suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3. (c) Whenever the driving privilege is restricted under this section, proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, shall be maintained for three years. If the person does not maintain that proof of financial responsibility at any time during the restriction, the driving privilege shall be suspended until the proof required under Section 16484 is received by the department. (d) For the purposes of this section, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit may not be given to a program activity completed prior to the date of the current violation. (e) (1) The department shall terminate the restriction issued under this section and shall suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1 immediately upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The privilege shall remain suspended until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 or 13352.1 have been met, whichever date is later. (2) The department shall immediately terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately suspend or revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person who, with respect to an ignition interlock device installed pursuant to Section 23575.3, attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, has the device removed prior to the termination date of the restriction, or fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the device. The privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the remaining period of the originating suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in this section are satisfied. (f) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 or Section 13352.1 is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized under this section. (g) If, upon conviction, the court has made the determination, as authorized under subdivision (d) of Section 23536 or paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 23538, to disallow the issuance of a restricted driver's license, the department may not issue a restricted driver's license under this section. (h) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 5. Section 13353.3 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13353.3. (a) An order of suspension of a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to Section 13353.2 shall become effective 30 days after the person is served with the notice pursuant to Section 13382 or 13388, or subdivision (b) of Section 13353.2. (b) The period of suspension of a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle under Section 13353.2 is as follows: (1) If the person has not been convicted of a separate violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, the person has not been administratively determined to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353 or 13353.1 of this code, or the person has not been administratively determined to have been driving with an excessive concentration of alcohol pursuant to Section 13353.2 on a separate occasion, which offense or occurrence occurred within 10 years of the occasion in question, the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended for four months. (2) (A) If the person has been convicted of one or more separate violations of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, the person has been administratively determined to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353 or 13353.1 of this code, or the person has been administratively determined to have been driving with an excessive concentration of alcohol pursuant to Section 13353.2 on a separate occasion, which offense or occasion occurred within 10 years of the occasion in question, the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended for one year, except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C). (B) The one-year suspension pursuant to subparagraph (A) shall terminate if the person has been convicted of a violation arising out of the same occurrence and all of the following conditions are met: (i) The person is eligible for a restricted driver's license pursuant to Section 13352. (ii) The person installs an ignition interlock device as required in Section 13352 for that restricted driver's license. (iii) The person complies with all other applicable conditions of Section 13352 for a restricted driver's license. (C) The one-year suspension pursuant to subparagraph (A) shall terminate after completion of a 90-day suspension period, and the person shall be eligible for a restricted license if the person has been convicted of a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, arising out of the same occurrence, has no more than two prior alcohol-related convictions within 10 years, as specified pursuant to subparagraph (A), and all of the following conditions are met: (i) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the underlying violation date, proof satisfactory to the department of enrollment in a nine-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code that consists of at least 60 hours of program activities, including education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions. (ii) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in clause (i). (iii) The person installs an ignition interlock device and submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (iv) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required pursuant to subdivision (g) of Section 23575. (v) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (vi) The person pays all license fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (vii) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (D) The department shall advise those persons that are eligible under subparagraph (C) that after completion of 90 days of the suspension period, the person may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license, subject to the conditions set forth in subparagraph (C). (E) The restricted driving privilege shall become effective when the department receives all of the documents and fees required under subparagraph (C) and remain in effect for at least the remaining period of the original suspension and until the person provides satisfactory proof to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. The restricted driving privilege shall be subject to the following conditions: (i) If the driving privilege is restricted under this section, proof of financial responsibility, as described in Section 16430, shall be maintained for three years. If the person does not maintain that proof of financial responsibility at any time during the restriction, the driving privilege shall be suspended until the proof required pursuant to Section 16484 is received by the department. (ii) For the purposes of this section, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit may not be given to a program activity completed prior to the date of the current violation. (iii) The department shall terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to subparagraph (A) immediately upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The privilege shall remain suspended until the final day of the original suspension imposed pursuant to subparagraph (A). (iv) The department shall terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to subparagraph (A) immediately upon receipt of notification from the installer that a person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the ignition interlock device, has removed the device prior to the termination date of the restriction, or fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device ordered pursuant to this section. The privilege shall remain suspended for the remaining period of the original suspension imposed pursuant to subparagraph (A). (3) Notwithstanding any other law, if a person has been administratively determined to have been driving in violation of Section 23136 or to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353.1, the period of suspension shall not be for less than one year. (c) If a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended pursuant to Section 13353.2 and the person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, including, but not limited to, a violation described in Section 23620, arising out of the same occurrence, both the suspension under Section 13353.2 and the suspension or revocation under Section 13352 shall be imposed, except that the periods of suspension or revocation shall run concurrently, and the total period of suspension or revocation shall not exceed the longer of the two suspension or revocation periods. (d) For the purposes of this section, a conviction of an offense in any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or Canada that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, is a conviction of that particular section of the Vehicle Code or Penal Code. (e) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized pursuant to this section. (f) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 6. Section 13353.3 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13353.3. (a) An order of suspension of a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to Section 13353.2 shall become effective 30 days after the person is served with the notice pursuant to Section 13382 or 13388, or subdivision (b) of Section 13353.2. (b) The period of suspension of a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle under Section 13353.2 is as follows: (1) If the person has not been convicted of a separate violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, the person has not been administratively determined to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353 or 13353.1 of this code, or the person has not been administratively determined to have been driving with an excessive concentration of alcohol pursuant to Section 13353.2 on a separate occasion, which offense or occurrence occurred within 10 years of the occasion in question, the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended for four months. (2) (A) If the person has been convicted of one or more separate violations of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, the person has been administratively determined to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353 or 13353.1 of this code, or the person has been administratively determined to have been driving with an excessive concentration of alcohol pursuant to Section 13353.2 on a separate occasion, which offense or occasion occurred within 10 years of the occasion in question, the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended for one year, except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C). (B) The one-year suspension pursuant to subparagraph (A) shall terminate if the person has been convicted of a violation arising out of the same occurrence and all of the following conditions are met: (i) The person is eligible for a restricted driver's license pursuant to Section 13352. (ii) The person installs an ignition interlock device as required in Section 13352 for that restricted driver's license. (iii) The person complies with all other applicable conditions of Section 13352 for a restricted driver's license. (C) The one-year suspension pursuant to subparagraph (A) shall terminate after completion of a 90-day suspension period, and the person shall be eligible for a restricted license if the person has been convicted of a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, arising out of the same occurrence, has no more than two prior alcohol-related convictions within 10 years, as specified pursuant to subparagraph (A), and all of the following conditions are met: (i) The person satisfactorily provides, subsequent to the underlying violation date, proof satisfactory to the department of enrollment in a nine-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code that consists of at least 60 hours of program activities, including education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions. (ii) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation in the program described in clause (i). (iii) The person installs an ignition interlock device and submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (iv) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3. (v) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430. (vi) The person pays all license fees and any restriction fee required by the department. (vii) The person pays to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this paragraph, as determined by the department. (D) The department shall advise those persons that are eligible under subparagraph (C) that after completion of 90 days of the suspension period, the person may apply to the department for a restricted driver's license, subject to the conditions set forth in subparagraph (C). (E) The restricted driving privilege shall become effective when the department receives all of the documents and fees required under subparagraph (C) and remain in effect for at least the remaining period of the original suspension and until the person provides satisfactory proof to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code. The restricted driving privilege shall be subject to the following conditions: (i) If the driving privilege is restricted under this section, proof of financial responsibility, as described in Section 16430, shall be maintained for three years. If the person does not maintain that proof of financial responsibility at any time during the restriction, the driving privilege shall be suspended until the proof required pursuant to Section 16484 is received by the department. (ii) For the purposes of this section, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall occur subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit may not be given to a program activity completed prior to the date of the current violation. (iii) The department shall terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to subparagraph (A) immediately upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The privilege shall remain suspended until the final day of the original suspension imposed pursuant to subparagraph (A). (iv) The department shall terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to subparagraph (A) immediately upon receipt of notification from the installer that a person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the ignition interlock device, has removed the device prior to the termination date of the restriction, or fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device ordered pursuant to this section. The privilege shall remain suspended for the remaining period of the original suspension imposed pursuant to subparagraph (A). (3) Notwithstanding any other law, if a person has been administratively determined to have been driving in violation of Section 23136 or to have refused chemical testing pursuant to Section 13353.1, the period of suspension shall not be for less than one year. (c) If a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended pursuant to Section 13353.2 and the person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, including, but not limited to, a violation described in Section 23620, arising out of the same occurrence, both the suspension under Section 13353.2 and the suspension or revocation under Section 13352 shall be imposed, except that the periods of suspension or revocation shall run concurrently, and the total period of suspension or revocation shall not exceed the longer of the two suspension or revocation periods. (d) For the purposes of this section, a conviction of an offense in any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or Canada that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code, is a conviction of that particular section of the Vehicle Code or Penal Code. (e) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person's noncommercial driving privilege is not eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized pursuant to this section. (f) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 7. Section 13353.4 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13353.4. (a) Except as provided in Section 13353.3, 13353.7, or 13353.8, the driving privilege shall not be restored, and a restricted or hardship permit to operate a motor vehicle shall not be issued, to a person during the suspension or revocation period specified in Section 13353, 13353.1, or 13353.3. (b) The privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall not be restored after a suspension or revocation pursuant to Section 13352, 13353, 13353.1, or 13353.2 until all applicable fees, including the fees prescribed in Section 14905, have been paid and the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, to the department. (c) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 8. Section 13353.4 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13353.4. (a) Except as provided in Section 13353.3, 13353.6, 13353.7, or 13353.8, the driving privilege shall not be restored, and a restricted or hardship permit to operate a motor vehicle shall not be issued, to a person during the suspension or revocation period specified in Section 13353, 13353.1, or 13353.3. (b) The privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall not be restored after a suspension or revocation pursuant to Section 13352, 13353, 13353.1, or 13353.2 until all applicable fees, including the fees prescribed in Section 14905, have been paid and the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, to the department. (c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 9. Section 13353.5 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13353.5. (a) If a person whose driving privilege is suspended or revoked under Section 13352, former Section 13352.4, Section 13352.4, Section 13352.6, paragraph (1) of subdivision (g) of Section 23247, or paragraph (2) of subdivision (f) of Section 23575 is a resident of another state at the time the mandatory period of suspension or revocation expires, the department may terminate the suspension or revocation, upon written application of the person, for the purpose of allowing the person to apply for a license in his or her state of residence. The application shall include, but need not be limited to, evidence satisfactory to the department that the applicant now resides in another state. (b) If the person submits an application for a California driver's license within three years after the date of the action to terminate suspension or revocation pursuant to subdivision (a), a license shall not be issued until evidence satisfactory to the department establishes that the person is qualified for reinstatement and no grounds exist including, but not limited to, one or more subsequent convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs that would support a refusal to issue a license. The department may waive the three-year requirement if the person provides the department with proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, and proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program described in Section 13352, and the driving-under-the-influence program is of the length required under paragraphs (1) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. (c) For the purposes of this section, "state" includes a foreign province or country. (d) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 10. Section 13353.5 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13353.5. (a) If a person whose driving privilege is suspended or revoked under Section 13352, former Section 13352.4, Section 13352.4, Section 13352.6, paragraph (1) of subdivision (g) of Section 23247, or paragraph (3) of subdivision (e) of Section 13352 is a resident of another state at the time the mandatory period of suspension or revocation expires, the department may terminate the suspension or revocation, upon written application of the person, for the purpose of allowing the person to apply for a license in his or her state of residence. The application shall include, but need not be limited to, evidence satisfactory to the department that the applicant now resides in another state. (b) If the person submits an application for a California driver's license within three years after the date of the action to terminate suspension or revocation pursuant to subdivision (a), a license shall not be issued until evidence satisfactory to the department establishes that the person is qualified for reinstatement and no grounds exist including, but not limited to, one or more subsequent convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs that would support a refusal to issue a license. The department may waive the three-year requirement if the person provides the department with proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, and proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program described in Section 13352, and the driving-under-the-influence program is of the length required under paragraphs (1) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. (c) For the purposes of this section, "state" includes a foreign province or country. (d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 11. Section 13353.6 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 13353.6. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, a person whose driving privilege has been suspended under Section 13353.2 and who is eligible for a restricted driver's license as provided for in Section 13353.3 or 13353.7 may be eligible for a restricted driver's license without serving any period of the suspension if the person meets all of the eligibility requirements specified in those sections and the person does both of the following: (1) The person installs an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that he or she own or operates and submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (2) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under Section 23575.3. (b) A person whose driving privilege has been suspended under Section 13353.2 may install an ignition interlock device prior to the effective date specified in Section 13353.3. A person who installs an ignition interlock device pursuant to this subdivision, meets all of the eligibility requirements specified in Section 13353.3 or 13353.7, and complies with paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) is eligible for a restricted driver's license on the effective date specified in Section 13353.3. (c) The department shall terminate the restriction issued pursuant to Section 13353.3 or 13353.7 and shall immediately reinstate the suspension of the privilege to operate a motor vehicle upon receipt of notification from the ignition interlock device installer that a person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the ignition interlock device, has removed the device prior to the termination date of the restriction, or fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. The privilege shall remain suspended for the remaining mandatory suspension period imposed pursuant to Section 13353.3. (d) Notwithstanding any other law, for a person whose driving privilege has been suspended under Section 13353.2, who is eligible for a restricted driver's license as provided for in Section 13353.7, and who installs an ignition interlock device pursuant to this section, a court shall reduce the fine amount by up to five hundred dollars ($500) for a conviction of a violation arising out of the same occurrence that led to the person's driving privilege being suspended. (e) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 12. Section 13386 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 13386. (a) (1) The department shall certify or cause to be certified ignition interlock devices required by Article 5 (commencing with Section 23575) of Chapter 2 of Division 11.5 and publish a list of approved devices. (2) (A) The department shall ensure that ignition interlock devices that have been certified according to the requirements of this section continue to meet certification requirements. The department may periodically require manufacturers to indicate in writing whether the devices continue to meet certification requirements. (B) The department may use denial of certification, suspension or revocation of certification, or decertification of an ignition interlock device in another state as an indication that the certification requirements are not met, if either of the following apply: (i) The denial of certification, suspension or revocation of certification, or decertification in another state constitutes a violation by the manufacturer of Article 2.55 (commencing with Section 125.00) of Chapter 1 of Division 1 of Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations. (ii) The denial of certification for an ignition interlock device in another state was due to a failure of an ignition interlock device to meet the standards adopted by the regulation set forth in clause (i), specifically Sections 1 and 2 of the model specification for breath alcohol ignition interlock devices, as published by notice in the Federal Register, Vol. 57, No. 67, Tuesday, April 7, 1992, on pages 11774 to 11787, inclusive. (C) Failure to continue to meet certification requirements shall result in suspension or revocation of certification of ignition interlock devices. (b) (1) A manufacturer shall not furnish an installer, service center, technician, or consumer with technology or information that allows a device to be used in a manner that is contrary to the purpose for which it is certified. (2) Upon a violation of paragraph (1), the department shall suspend or revoke the certification of the ignition interlock device that is the subject of that violation. (c) An installer, service center, or technician shall not tamper with, change, or alter the functionality of the device from its certified criteria. (d) The department shall utilize information from an independent, accredited (ISO/IEC 17025) laboratory to certify ignition interlock devices of the manufacturer or manufacturer's agent, in accordance with the guidelines. The cost of certification shall be borne by the manufacturers of ignition interlock devices. If the certification of a device is suspended or revoked, the manufacturer of the device shall be responsible for, and shall bear the cost of, the removal of the device and the replacement of a certified device of the manufacturer or another manufacturer. (e) No model of ignition interlock device shall be certified unless it meets the accuracy requirements and specifications provided in the guidelines adopted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. (f) All manufacturers of ignition interlock devices that meet the requirements of subdivision (e) and are certified in a manner approved by the department, who intend to market the devices in this state, first shall apply to the department on forms provided by that department. The application shall be accompanied by a fee in an amount not to exceed the amount necessary to cover the costs incurred by the department in carrying out this section. (g) The department shall ensure that standard forms and procedures are developed for documenting decisions and compliance and communicating results to relevant agencies. These forms shall include all of the following: (1) An "Option to Install," to be sent by the department to repeat offenders along with the mandatory order of suspension or revocation. This shall include the alternatives available for early license reinstatement with the installation of an ignition interlock device and shall be accompanied by a toll-free telephone number for each manufacturer of a certified ignition interlock device. Information regarding approved installation locations shall be provided to drivers by manufacturers with ignition interlock devices that have been certified in accordance with this section. (2) A "Verification of Installation" to be returned to the department by the reinstating offender upon application for reinstatement. Copies shall be provided for the manufacturer or the manufacturer's agent. (3) A "Notice of Noncompliance" and procedures to ensure continued use of the ignition interlock device during the restriction period and to ensure compliance with maintenance requirements. The maintenance period shall be standardized at 60 days to maximize monitoring checks for equipment tampering. (h) Every manufacturer and manufacturer's agent certified by the department to provide ignition interlock devices shall adopt fee schedules that provide for the payment of the costs of the device by applicants in amounts commensurate with the applicant's ability to pay. (i) A person who manufacturers, installs, services, or repairs, or otherwise deals in ignition interlock devices shall not disclose, sell, or transfer to a third party any individually identifiable information pertaining to individuals who are required by law to install an ignition interlock device on a vehicle that he or she owns or operates, except to the extent necessary to confirm or deny that an individual has complied with ignition interlock device installation and maintenance requirements. SEC. 13. Section 23103.5 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23103.5. (a) If the prosecution agrees to a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of a violation of Section 23103 in satisfaction of, or as a substitute for, an original charge of a violation of Section 23152, the prosecution shall state for the record a factual basis for the satisfaction or substitution, including whether or not there had been consumption of an alcoholic beverage or ingestion or administration of a drug, or both, by the defendant in connection with the offense. The statement shall set forth the facts that show whether or not there was a consumption of an alcoholic beverage or the ingestion or administration of a drug by the defendant in connection with the offense. (b) The court shall advise the defendant, prior to the acceptance of the plea offered pursuant to a factual statement pursuant to subdivision (a), of the consequences of a conviction of a violation of Section 23103 as set forth in subdivision (c). (c) If the court accepts the defendant's plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of a violation of Section 23103 and the prosecutor's statement under subdivision (a) states that there was consumption of an alcoholic beverage or the ingestion or administration of a drug by the defendant in connection with the offense, the resulting conviction shall be a prior offense for the purposes of Section 23540, 23546, 23550, 23560, 23566, or 23622, as specified in those sections. (d) The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of each conviction of Section 23103 that is required under this section to be a prior offense for purposes of Section 23540, 23546, 23550, 23560, 23566, or 23622. (e) Except as provided in paragraph (1) of subdivision (f), if the court places the defendant on probation for a conviction of Section 23103 that is required under this section to be a prior offense for purposes of Section 23540, 23546, 23550, 23560, 23566, or 23622, the court shall order the defendant to enroll in an alcohol and drug education program licensed under Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code and complete, at a minimum, the educational component of that program, as a condition of probation. If compelling circumstances exist that mitigate against including the education component in the order, the court may make an affirmative finding to that effect. The court shall state the compelling circumstances and the affirmative finding on the record, and may, in these cases, exclude the educational component from the order. (f) (1) If the court places on probation a defendant convicted of a violation of Section 23103 that is required under this section to be a prior offense for purposes of Section 23540, 23546, 23550, 23560, 23566, or 23622, and that offense occurred within 10 years of a separate conviction of a violation of Section 23103, as specified in this section, or within 10 years of a conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, the court shall order the defendant to participate for nine months or longer, as ordered by the court, in a program licensed under Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 11836) of Part 2 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code that consists of at least 60 hours of program activities, including education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions. (2) The court shall revoke the person's probation, except for good cause shown, for the failure to enroll in, participate in, or complete a program specified in paragraph (1). (g) Beginning July 1, 2017, the court may require a person convicted of a violation of Section 23103, as described in this section, to install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and prohibit that person from operating a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. If the court orders the ignition interlock device restriction, the term shall be determined by the court for a period of at least three months, but no longer than the term specified in Section 23575.3 that would have applied to the defendant had he or she instead been convicted of a violation of Section 23152, from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. A person who is required to install an ignition interlock device pursuant to this subdivision shall submit the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386 and maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (f) of Section 23575.3. The department shall monitor the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device installed pursuant to this subdivision. (h) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall include in its annual report to the Legislature under Section 1821 an evaluation of the effectiveness of the programs described in subdivisions (e) and (g) as to treating persons convicted of violating Section 23103. SEC. 14. Section 23247 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23247. (a) It is unlawful for a person to knowingly rent, lease, or lend a motor vehicle to another person known to have had his or her driving privilege restricted as provided in Section 13352, 23575, or 23700, unless the vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. A person, whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 23575, or 23700 shall notify any other person who rents, leases, or loans a motor vehicle to him or her of the driving restriction imposed under that section. (b) It is unlawful for any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 23575, or 23700 to request or solicit any other person to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with the device for the purpose of providing the person so restricted with an operable motor vehicle. (c) It is unlawful to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with the device for the purpose of providing an operable motor vehicle to a person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 23575, or 23700. (d) It is unlawful to remove, bypass, or tamper with, an ignition interlock device. (e) It is unlawful for any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 23575, or 23700 to operate any vehicle not equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device. (f) Any person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months or by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. (g) (1) If any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352 is convicted of a violation of subdivision (e), the court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, which shall immediately terminate the restriction and shall suspend or revoke the person's driving privilege for the remaining period of the originating suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in Section 13352 are met. (2) If any person who is restricted pursuant to subdivision (a) or ( l ) of Section 23575 or Section 23700 is convicted of a violation of subdivision (e), the department shall suspend the person's driving privilege for one year from the date of the conviction. (h) Notwithstanding any other law, if a vehicle in which an ignition interlock device has been installed is impounded, the manufacturer or installer of the device shall have the right to remove the device from the vehicle during normal business hours. No charge shall be imposed for the removal of the device nor shall the manufacturer or installer be liable for any removal, towing, impoundment, storage, release, or administrative costs or penalties associated with the impoundment. Upon request, the person seeking to remove the device shall present documentation to justify removal of the device from the vehicle. Any damage to the vehicle resulting from the removal of the device is the responsibility of the person removing it. (i) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 15. Section 23247 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23247. (a) It is unlawful for a person to knowingly rent, lease, or lend a motor vehicle to another person known to have had his or her driving privilege restricted as provided in Section 13352, 13352.4, 23575, 23575.3, or 23700, unless the vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. A person, whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 13352.4, 23575, 23575.3, or 23700 shall notify any other person who rents, leases, or loans a motor vehicle to him or her of the driving restriction imposed under that section. (b) It is unlawful for any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 13352.4, 23575, 23575.3, or 23700 to request or solicit any other person to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with the device for the purpose of providing the person so restricted with an operable motor vehicle. (c) It is unlawful to blow into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with the device for the purpose of providing an operable motor vehicle to a person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 13352.4, 23575, 23575.3, or 23700. (d) It is unlawful to remove, bypass, or tamper with, an ignition interlock device. (e) It is unlawful for any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352, 13352.4, 23575, 23575.3, or 23700 to operate any vehicle not equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device. (f) Any person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months or by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. (g) (1) If any person whose driving privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352 or 13352.4 is convicted of a violation of subdivision (e), the court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, which shall immediately terminate the restriction and shall suspend or revoke the person's driving privilege for the remaining period of the originating suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in Section 13352 are met. (2) If any person who is restricted pursuant to Section 23575.3, subdivision (a) or (i) of Section 23575, or Section 23700 is convicted of a violation of subdivision (e), the department shall suspend the person's driving privilege for one year from the date of the conviction. (h) Notwithstanding any other law, if a vehicle in which an ignition interlock device has been installed is impounded, the manufacturer or installer of the device shall have the right to remove the device from the vehicle during normal business hours. No charge shall be imposed for the removal of the device nor shall the manufacturer or installer be liable for any removal, towing, impoundment, storage, release, or administrative costs or penalties associated with the impoundment. Upon request, the person seeking to remove the device shall present documentation to justify removal of the device from the vehicle. Any damage to the vehicle resulting from the removal of the device is the responsibility of the person removing it. (i) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 16. Section 23573 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23573. (a) The Department of Motor Vehicles, upon receipt of the court's abstract of conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (j), shall inform the convicted person of the requirements of this section and the term for which the person is required to have a certified ignition interlock device installed. The records of the department shall reflect the mandatory use of the device for the term required and the time when the device is required to be installed pursuant to this code. (b) The department shall advise the person that installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle does not allow the person to drive without a valid driver's license. (c) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (a) shall, within 30 days of notification, complete all of the following: (1) Arrange for each vehicle owned or operated by the person to be fitted with an ignition interlock device by a certified ignition interlock device provider under Section 13386. (2) Notify the department and provide to the department proof of installation by submitting the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (3) Pay to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this section, including startup costs, as determined by the department. (d) The department shall place a restriction on the driver's license record of the convicted person that states the driver is restricted to driving only vehicles equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. (e) (1) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (a) shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 60 days in order for the installer to recalibrate and monitor the operation of the device. (2) The installer shall notify the department if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. (f) The department shall monitor the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device installed pursuant to subdivision (a). (g) (1) A person who is notified by the department, pursuant to subdivision (a), is exempt from the requirements of subdivision (c) if all of the following circumstances occur: (A) Within 30 days of the notification, the person certifies to the department all of the following: (i) The person does not own a vehicle. (ii) The person does not have access to a vehicle at his or her residence. (iii) The person no longer has access to the vehicle being driven by the person when he or she was arrested for a violation that subsequently resulted in a conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (j). (iv) The person acknowledges that he or she is only allowed to drive a vehicle that is fitted with an operating ignition interlock device and that he or she is required to have a valid driver's license before he or she can drive. (v) The person is subject to the requirements of this section when he or she purchases or has access to a vehicle. (B) The person's driver's license record has been restricted pursuant to subdivision (d). (C) The person complies with this section immediately upon commencing ownership or operation of a vehicle subject to the required installation of an ignition interlock device. (2) A person who has been granted an exemption pursuant to this subdivision and who subsequently drives a vehicle in violation of the exemption is subject to the penalties of subdivision (i) in addition to any other applicable penalties in law. (h) This section does not permit a person to drive without a valid driver's license. (i) A person who is required under subdivision (c) to install an ignition interlock device who willfully fails to install the ignition interlock device within the time period required under subdivision (c) is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months or by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. (j) In addition to all other requirements of this code, a person convicted of any of the following violations shall be punished as follows: (1) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to one prior conviction of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of one year. (2) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to two prior convictions of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, or one prior conviction of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of two years. (3) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to three or more prior convictions of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, or two or more prior convictions of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of three years. (k) The department shall notify the court if a person subject to this section has failed to show proof of installation within 30 days of the department informing the person he or she is required to install a certified ignition interlock device. ( l ) Subdivisions (j), (k), (m), (n), and (o) of Section 23575 apply to this section. (m) The requirements of this section are in addition to any other requirements of law. (n) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 17. Section 23573 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23573. (a) The Department of Motor Vehicles, upon receipt of the court's abstract of conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (j), shall inform the convicted person of the requirements of this section and the term for which the person is required to have a certified ignition interlock device installed. The records of the department shall reflect the mandatory use of the device for the term required and the time when the device is required to be installed pursuant to this code. (b) The department shall advise the person that installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle does not allow the person to drive without a valid driver's license. (c) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (a) shall, within 30 days of notification, complete all of the following: (1) Arrange for each vehicle owned or operated by the person to be fitted with an ignition interlock device by a certified ignition interlock device provider under Section 13386. (2) Notify the department and provide to the department proof of installation by submitting the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (3) Pay to the department a fee sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this section, including startup costs, as determined by the department. (d) The department shall place a restriction on the driver's license record of the convicted person that states the driver is restricted to driving only vehicles equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. (e) (1) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (a) shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 45 days in order for the installer to recalibrate and monitor the operation of the device. (2) The installer shall notify the department if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. (f) The department shall monitor the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device installed pursuant to subdivision (a). (g) (1) A person who is notified by the department, pursuant to subdivision (a), is exempt from the requirements of subdivision (c) if all of the following circumstances occur: (A) Within 45 days of the notification, the person certifies to the department all of the following: (i) The person does not own a vehicle. (ii) The person does not have access to a vehicle at his or her residence. (iii) The person no longer has access to the vehicle being driven by the person when he or she was arrested for a violation that subsequently resulted in a conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (j). (iv) The person acknowledges that he or she is only allowed to drive a vehicle that is fitted with an operating ignition interlock device and that he or she is required to have a valid driver's license before he or she can drive. (v) The person is subject to the requirements of this section when he or she purchases or has access to a vehicle. (B) The person's driver's license record has been restricted pursuant to subdivision (d). (C) The person complies with this section immediately upon commencing ownership or operation of a vehicle subject to the required installation of an ignition interlock device. (2) A person who has been granted an exemption pursuant to this subdivision and who subsequently drives a vehicle in violation of the exemption is subject to the penalties of subdivision (i) in addition to any other applicable penalties in law. (h) This section does not permit a person to drive without a valid driver's license. (i) A person who is required under subdivision (c) to install an ignition interlock device who willfully fails to install the ignition interlock device within the time period required under subdivision (c) is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months or by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. (j) In addition to all other requirements of this code, a person convicted of any of the following violations shall be punished as follows: (1) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to one prior conviction of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of one year. (2) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to two prior convictions of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, or one prior conviction of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of two years. (3) Upon a conviction of a violation of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 subsequent to three or more prior convictions of a violation of Section 23103.5, 23152, or 23153, within a 10-year period, or two or more prior convictions of Section 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5, within a 10-year period, the person shall immediately install a certified ignition interlock device, pursuant to this section, in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a term of three years. (k) The department shall notify the court if a person subject to this section has failed to show proof of installation within 30 days of the department informing the person he or she is required to install a certified ignition interlock device. (l) Subdivisions (g), (h), (j), (k), and (l) of Section 23575 apply to this section. (m) The requirements of this section are in addition to any other requirements of law. (n) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 18. Section 23575 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23575. (a) (1) In addition to any other law, the court may require that a person convicted of a first offense violation of Section 23152 or 23153 install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and prohibit that person from operating a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. The court shall give heightened consideration to applying this sanction to a first offense violator with 0.15 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at arrest, or with two or more prior moving traffic violations, or to persons who refused the chemical tests at arrest. If the court orders the ignition interlock device restriction, the term shall be determined by the court for a period not to exceed three years from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. (2) The court shall require a person convicted of a violation of Section 14601.2 to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and prohibit the person from operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. The term of the restriction shall be determined by the court for a period not to exceed three years from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. (b) The court shall include on the abstract of conviction or violation submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles under Section 1803 or 1816 the requirement and term for the use of a certified ignition interlock device. The records of the department shall reflect mandatory use of the device for the term ordered by the court. (c) The court shall advise the person that installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle does not allow the person to drive without a valid driver's license. (d) A person whose driving privilege is restricted by the court pursuant to this section shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 60 days in order for the installer to recalibrate and monitor the operation of the device. The installer shall notify the court if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with a requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. There is no obligation for the installer to notify the court if the person has complied with all of the requirements of this article. (e) The court shall monitor the installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device restriction ordered pursuant to subdivision (a) or (l). If a person fails to comply with the court order, the court shall give notice of the fact to the department pursuant to Section 40509.1. (f) (1) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 and the offense occurred within 10 years of one or more separate violations of Section 23152 or 23153 that resulted in a conviction, or if a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, and is suspended for one year under Section 13353.3, the person may apply to the Department of Motor Vehicles for a restricted driver's license pursuant to Section 13352 or 13353.3 that prohibits the person from operating a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device, certified pursuant to Section 13386. The restriction shall remain in effect for at least the remaining period of the original suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in Section 13352 or 13353.4 are met. (2) Pursuant to subdivision (g), the Department of Motor Vehicles shall immediately terminate the restriction issued pursuant to Section 13352 or 13353.3 and shall immediately suspend or revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person who attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, who has the device removed prior to the termination date of the restriction, or who fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device ordered pursuant to Section 13352 or 13353.3. The privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the remaining period of the originating suspension or revocation and until all reinstatement requirements in Section 13352 or 13353.4 are met. (g) A person whose driving privilege is restricted by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Section 13352 or 13353.3 shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 60 days in order for the installer to recalibrate the device and monitor the operation of the device. The installer shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. There is no obligation on the part of the installer to notify the department or the court if the person has complied with all of the requirements of this section. (h) Nothing in this section permits a person to drive without a valid driver's license. (i) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall include information along with the order of suspension or revocation for repeat offenders informing them that after a specified period of suspension or revocation has been completed, the person may either install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates or remain with a suspended or revoked driver's license. (j) Pursuant to this section, an out-of-state resident who otherwise would qualify for an ignition interlock device restricted license in California shall be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle in California unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device is not required to be installed on any vehicle owned by the defendant that is not driven in California. (k) If a medical problem does not permit a person to breathe with sufficient strength to activate the device, that person shall only have the suspension option. ( l ) This section does not restrict a court from requiring installation of an ignition interlock device and prohibiting operation of a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device for a person to whom subdivision (a) or (b) does not apply. The term of the restriction shall be determined by the court for a period not to exceed three years from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. (m) For the purposes of this section, "vehicle" does not include a motorcycle until the state certifies an ignition interlock device that can be installed on a motorcycle. Any person subject to an ignition interlock device restriction shall not operate a motorcycle for the duration of the ignition interlock device restriction period. (n) For the purposes of this section, "owned" means solely owned or owned in conjunction with another person or legal entity. For purposes of this section, "operates" includes operating a vehicle that is not owned by the person subject to this section. (o) For the purposes of this section, "bypass" includes, but is not limited to, either of the following: (1) A combination of failing or not taking the ignition interlock device rolling retest three consecutive times. (2) An incidence of failing or not taking the ignition interlock device rolling retest, when not followed by an incidence of passing the ignition interlock rolling retest prior to turning off the vehicle's engine. (p) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 19. Section 23575 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23575. (a) The court shall require a person convicted of a violation of Section 14601.2 to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and prohibit the person from operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device. The term of the restriction shall be determined by the court for a period not to exceed three years from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. (b) The court shall include on the abstract of conviction or violation submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles under Section 1803 or 1816 the requirement and term for the use of a certified ignition interlock device. The records of the department shall reflect mandatory use of the device for the term ordered by the court. (c) The court shall advise the person that installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle does not allow the person to drive without a valid driver's license. (d) A person whose driving privilege is restricted by the court pursuant to this section shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 60 days in order for the installer to recalibrate and monitor the operation of the device. The installer shall notify the court if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with a requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. There is no obligation for the installer to notify the court if the person has complied with all of the requirements of this article. (e) The court shall monitor the installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device restriction ordered pursuant to subdivision (a) or (i). If a person fails to comply with the court order, the court shall give notice of the fact to the department pursuant to Section 40509.1. (f) Nothing in this section permits a person to drive without a valid driver's license. (g) Pursuant to this section, an out-of-state resident who otherwise would qualify for an ignition interlock device restricted license in California shall be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle in California unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device is not required to be installed on any vehicle owned by the defendant that is not driven in California. (h) If a medical problem does not permit a person to breathe with sufficient strength to activate the device, that person shall only have the suspension option. (i) This section does not restrict a court from requiring installation of an ignition interlock device and prohibiting operation of a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device for a person to whom subdivision (a) does not apply. The term of the restriction shall be determined by the court for a period not to exceed three years from the date of conviction. The court shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles, as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 1803, of the terms of the restrictions in accordance with subdivision (a) of Section 1804. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall place the restriction in the person's records in the Department of Motor Vehicles. (j) For the purposes of this section, "vehicle" does not include a motorcycle until the state certifies an ignition interlock device that can be installed on a motorcycle. Any person subject to an ignition interlock device restriction shall not operate a motorcycle for the duration of the ignition interlock device restriction period. (k) For the purposes of this section, "owned" means solely owned or owned in conjunction with another person or legal entity. For purposes of this section, "operates" includes operating a vehicle that is not owned by the person subject to this section. ( l ) For the purposes of this section, "bypass" includes, but is not limited to, either of the following: (1) A combination of failing or not taking the ignition interlock device rolling retest three consecutive times. (2) An incidence of failing or not taking the ignition interlock device rolling retest, when not followed by an incidence of passing the ignition interlock rolling retest prior to turning off the vehicle's engine. (m) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 20. Section 23575.3 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23575.3. (a) In addition to any other requirement imposed by law, a court shall notify a person convicted of a violation listed in subdivision (h) that he or she is required to install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates and that he or she is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock device in accordance with this section. (b) The Department of Motor Vehicles, upon receipt of the court's abstract of conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (h), shall inform the convicted person of the requirements of this section, including the term for which the person is required to have a certified ignition interlock device installed. The records of the department shall reflect the mandatory use of the device for the term required and the time when the device is required to be installed by this code. (c) The department shall advise the person that installation of an ignition interlock device on a vehicle does not allow the person to drive without a valid driver's license. (d) (1) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (b) shall do all of the following: (A) Arrange for each vehicle owned or operated by the person to be equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device by a certified ignition interlock device provider under Section 13386. (B) Provide to the department proof of installation by submitting the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386. (C) Pay a fee, determined by the department, that is sufficient to cover the costs of administration of this section. (2) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (b), is exempt from the requirements of this subdivision until the time he or she purchases or has access to a vehicle if, within 30 days of the notification, the person certifies to the department all of the following: (A) The person does not own a vehicle. (B) The person does not have access to a vehicle at his or her residence. (C) The person no longer has access to the vehicle he or she was driving at the time he or she was arrested for a violation that subsequently resulted in a conviction for a violation listed in subdivision (h). (D) The person acknowledges that he or she is only allowed to drive a vehicle that is equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device. (E) The person acknowledges that he or she is required to have a valid driver's license before he or she can drive. (F) The person acknowledges that he or she is subject to the requirements of this section when he or she purchases or has access to a vehicle. (e) In addition to any other restrictions the department places on the driver's license record of the convicted person when the person is issued a restricted driver's license pursuant to Section 13352 or 13352.4, the department shall place a restriction on the driver's license record of the person that states the driver is restricted to driving only vehicles equipped with a certified ignition interlock device for the applicable term. (f) (1) A person who is notified by the department pursuant to subdivision (b) shall arrange for each vehicle with an ignition interlock device to be serviced by the installer at least once every 60 days in order for the installer to recalibrate and monitor the operation of the device. (2) The installer shall notify the department if the device is removed or indicates that the person has attempted to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or if the person fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. (g) The department shall monitor the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device installed pursuant to subdivision (d). (h) A person is required to install an ignition interlock device pursuant to this section for the applicable term, as follows: (1) A person convicted of a violation of subdivision (a), (b), (d), or (f) of Section 23152 shall be required to install an ignition interlock device, as follows: (A) Upon a conviction with no priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of six months. (B) Upon a conviction with one prior, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 12 months. (C) Upon a conviction with two priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 24 months. (D) Upon a conviction with three or more priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 36 months. (2) A person convicted of a violation of (a), (b), (d), or (f) of Section 23153 shall install an ignition interlock device, as follows: (A) Upon a conviction with no priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 12 months. (B) Upon a conviction with one prior, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 24 months. (C) Upon a conviction with two priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 36 months. (D) Upon a conviction with three or more priors, the person shall install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles owned or operated by that person for a mandatory term of 48 months. (3) For the purposes of paragraphs (1) and (2), "prior" means a conviction for a violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code. (4) The terms prescribed in this subdivision shall begin once a person has complied with subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) and either upon the reinstatement of the privilege to drive pursuant to Section 13352 or the issuance of a restricted driver's license pursuant to Section 13352 or 13352.4. A person shall receive credit for any period in which he or she had a restricted driver's license issued pursuant to Section 13353.3 or 13353.7 and he or she was in compliance with Section 13353.6. (i) Subdivisions (g), (h), (j), and (k) of Section 23575 apply to this section. (j) If a person fails to comply with any of the requirements regarding ignition interlock devices, the period in which the person was not in compliance shall not be credited towards the mandatory term for which the ignition interlock device is required to be installed. (k) (1) Every manufacturer and manufacturer's agent certified by the department to provide ignition interlock devices, under Section 13386, shall adopt the following fee schedule that provides for the payment of the costs of the ignition interlock device by offenders subject to this chapter in amounts commensurate with that person's income relative to the federal poverty level, as defined in Section 127400 of the Health and Safety Code: (A) A person with an income at 100 percent of the federal poverty level and below is responsible for 10 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device. The ignition interlock device provider is responsible for absorbing the cost of the ignition interlock device that is not paid by the person. (B) A person with an income at 101 to 200 percent of the federal poverty level is responsible for 25 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device. The ignition interlock device provider is responsible for absorbing the cost of the ignition interlock device that is not paid by the person. (C) A person with an income at 201 to 300 percent of the federal poverty level is responsible for 50 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device. The ignition interlock device provider is responsible for absorbing the cost of the ignition interlock device that is not paid by the person. (D) A person with an income at 301 to 400 percent of the federal poverty level is responsible for 90 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device. The ignition interlock device provider is responsible for absorbing the cost of the ignition interlock device that is not paid by the person. (E) All other offenders are responsible for 100 percent of the cost of the ignition interlock device. (2) The cost of the ignition interlock device may only be raised annually equal to the Consumer Price Index. (3) The offender's income may be verified by presentation of that person's current federal income tax return or three months of monthly income statements. (l) This section does not permit a person to drive without a valid driver's license. (m) The requirements of this section are in addition to any other requirements of law. (n) For the purposes of this section, "vehicle" does not include a motorcycle until the state certifies an ignition interlock device that can be installed on a motorcycle. A person subject to an ignition interlock device restriction shall not operate a motorcycle for the duration of the ignition interlock device restriction period. (o) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 21. Section 23575.5 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23575.5. (a) On or before June 1, 2021, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall report to the Legislature regarding the implementation and efficacy of the program enacted by the act that added this section. (b) The report described in subdivision (a) shall, at a minimum, include all of the following: (1) Whether anyone who was required to have an ignition interlock device installed as a result of the program killed or injured anyone in an accident while he or she was operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol. (2) Whether anyone who was required to have an ignition interlock device installed as a result of the program was convicted of an alcohol-related violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5 of the Penal Code during the term in which the person was required to have the ignition interlock device installed. (3) A comparison of the number of injuries and deaths resulting from alcohol-related motor vehicle accidents between July 1, 2017, and January 1, 2021, inclusive, and during periods of similar duration prior to the implementation of the program. (4) A comparison of the number of individuals who have been convicted more than one time for driving under the influence of alcohol between July 1, 2017, and January 1, 2021, inclusive, and periods of similar duration prior to the implementation of the program. (c) The report described in subdivision (a) shall be submitted in compliance with Section 9795 of the Government Code. (d) (1) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. (2) Pursuant to Section 10231.5 of the Government Code, this section shall become inoperative on June 1, 2025, and, as of January 1, 2026, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2026, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 22. Section 23576 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23576. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 23575 and 23700, if a person is required to operate a motor vehicle in the course and scope of his or her employment and if the vehicle is owned by the employer, the person may operate that vehicle without installation of an approved ignition interlock device if the employer has been notified by the person that the person's driving privilege has been restricted pursuant to Section 23575 or 23700 and if the person has proof of that notification in his or her possession, or if the notice, or a facsimile copy thereof, is with the vehicle. (b) A motor vehicle owned by a business entity that is all or partly owned or controlled by a person otherwise subject to Section 23575 or 23700, is not a motor vehicle owned by the employer subject to the exemption in subdivision (a). (c) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2017, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 23. Section 23576 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23576. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 23575, 23575.3, and 23700, if a person is required to operate a motor vehicle in the course and scope of his or her employment and if the vehicle is owned by the employer, the person may operate that vehicle without installation of an approved ignition interlock device if the employer has been notified by the person that the person's driving privilege has been restricted pursuant to Section 23575, 23575.3, or 23700 and if the person has proof of that notification in his or her possession, or if the notice, or a facsimile copy thereof, is with the vehicle. (b) A motor vehicle owned by a business entity that is all or partly owned or controlled by a person otherwise subject to Section 23575, 23575.3, or 23700, is not a motor vehicle owned by the employer subject to the exemption in subdivision (a). (c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 24. Section 23597 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 23597. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13202.5, 13203, and 13352, a court may order a 10-year revocation of the driver's license of a person who has been convicted of three or more separate violations of Section 23152 or 23153, the last of which is punishable under Section 23546, 23550, 23550.5, or 23566. When making this order, the court shall consider all of the following: (1) The person's level of remorse for the acts. (2) The period of time that has elapsed since the person's previous convictions. (3) The person's blood-alcohol level at the time of the violation. (4) The person's participation in an alcohol treatment program. (5) The person's risk to traffic or public safety. (6) The person's ability to install a certified ignition interlock device in each motor vehicle that he or she owns or operates. (b) Upon receipt of a duly certified abstract of the record of the court showing the court has ordered a 10-year revocation of a driver' s license pursuant to this section, the department shall revoke the person's driver's license for 10 years, except as provided in subdivision (c). (c) (1) Five years from the date of the last conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, a person whose license was revoked pursuant to subdivision (a) may apply to the department to have his or her privilege to operate a motor vehicle reinstated, subject to the condition that the person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386 and agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575. Notwithstanding Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 23700) or subdivision (f) of Section 23575, the ignition interlock device shall remain on the person's motor vehicle for two years following the reinstatement of the person's driving privilege pursuant to this section. (2) The department shall reinstate the person's license pursuant to paragraph (1), if the person satisfies all of the following conditions: (A) The person was not convicted of any drug- or alcohol-related offenses, under state law, during the driver's license revocation period. (B) The person successfully completed a driving-under-the-influence program, licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, following the date of the last conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153. (C) The person was not convicted of violating Section 14601, 14601.1, 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 during the driver's license revocation period. (3) The department shall immediately terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person who attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, who has the device removed prior to the termination date of the restriction, or who fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. The privilege shall remain revoked for the remaining period of the original revocation and until all reinstatement requirements are met. (d) This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 2017, and, as of January 1, 2018, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that becomes operative on or before January 1, 2018, deletes or extends the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. SEC. 25. Section 23597 is added to the Vehicle Code, to read: 23597. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13202.5, 13203, and 13352, a court may order a 10-year revocation of the driver's license of a person who has been convicted of three or more separate violations of Section 23152 or 23153, the last of which is punishable under Section 23546, 23550, 23550.5, or 23566. When making this order, the court shall consider all of the following: (1) The person's level of remorse for the acts. (2) The period of time that has elapsed since the person's previous convictions. (3) The person's blood-alcohol level at the time of the violation. (4) The person's participation in an alcohol treatment program. (5) The person's risk to traffic or public safety. (6) The person's ability to install a certified ignition interlock device in each motor vehicle that he or she owns or operates. (b) Upon receipt of a duly certified abstract of the record of the court showing the court has ordered a 10-year revocation of a driver' s license pursuant to this section, the department shall revoke the person's driver's license for 10 years, except as provided in subdivision (c). (c) (1) Five years from the date of the last conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153, a person whose license was revoked pursuant to subdivision (a) may apply to the department to have his or her privilege to operate a motor vehicle reinstated, subject to the condition that the person submits the "Verification of Installation" form described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 13386 and agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as required under subdivision (f) of Section 23575.3. Notwithstanding Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 23700) or Section 23575.3, the ignition interlock device shall remain on the person's motor vehicle for two years following the reinstatement of the person's driving privilege pursuant to this section. (2) The department shall reinstate the person's license pursuant to paragraph (1), if the person satisfies all of the following conditions: (A) The person was not convicted of any drug- or alcohol-related offenses, under state law, during the driver's license revocation period. (B) The person successfully completed a driving-under-the-influence program, licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, following the date of the last conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 of this code. (C) The person was not convicted of violating Section 14601, 14601.1, 14601.2, 14601.4, or 14601.5 during the driver's license revocation period. (3) The department shall immediately terminate the restriction issued pursuant to this section and shall immediately revoke the privilege to operate a motor vehicle of a person who attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, who has the device removed prior to the termination date of the restriction, or who fails three or more times to comply with any requirement for the maintenance or calibration of the ignition interlock device. The privilege shall remain revoked for the remaining period of the original revocation and until all reinstatement requirements are met. (d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2017. SEC. 26. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Latest, Proven Results

Outcome of Case: Wet Reckless

1st time DUI Collision with a .13% BAC  
November 2017

Outcome of Case: Case Dismissed

1st time DUI with a .18% BAC
November 2017

Outcome of Case: Misdemeanor (No time in custody)

Felony Burglary
November 2017

Protect Your License