DUI PRIORS IN REGARDS TO CALIFORNIA
California has a 10 year “look back” period for prior driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) convictions. Anyone in California who is arrested for driving under the influence in a violation of a DUI, and has a prior DUI conviction within the past 10 years faces increased punishment in criminal court and at the DMV on the new count. If more than 10 years pass between arrests, the later arrest is treated as a 1st time offense.
Prior driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs convictions impact nearly every aspect of a drunk driving arrest, from bail to DUI sentencing. California drivers with multiple DUI offense face greater fines, drivers license suspensions, alcohol education classes, and other punishment.
California DUI offenses that count as prior convictions include driving under the influence in violation of VC 23152(a), and driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or greater in violation of VC 23152(b), reckless driving involving alcohol, also known as “wet-reckless” VC 23103.5, and DUI with injury VC 23153(a). The 10-year period is calculated from arrest date to arrest date.
It is vital that if you have a prior DUI conviction and you are charged with a subsequent DUI arrest to obtain an attorney who knows how to deal with priors.
Hire a Proactive, affordable, and quality defense when you are facing San Diego DUI charges. Whether you have been charged of a San Diego DUI, Poway DUI, La Mesa DUI, Santee DUI, Mission Valley DUI, Clairemont DUI, Point Loma DUI, La Jolla DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Mira Mesa DUI, Pacific Beach DUI, Del Mar DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Encinitas DUI, Oceanside DUI, Ocean Beach DUI, Escondido DUI, Vista DUI, San Marcos DUI, Carlsbad DUI, El Cajon DUI it is vital you need to hire an attorney who knows how to defend your rights and can determine if the government can prove their case. Contact the Law Office of Mark Deniz now for a free case evaluation