We remain open and steadfast in our commitment to helping our clients during these difficult days.

Drivers face severe consequences with prior San Diego DUIs on their record. Former San Diego Prosecutor explains about Driving under the influence unintended consequences

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » Drivers face severe consequences with prior San Diego DUIs on their record. Former San Diego Prosecutor explains about Driving under the influence unintended consequences

Drivers face severe consequences with prior San Diego DUIs on their record. Former San Diego Prosecutor explains about Driving under the influence unintended consequences

While California law takes all charges of driving under the influence (DUI) very seriously, and drivers with a previous charge on their record face even more strict penalties. Even if drivers make the mistake of driving drunk twice in a decade can face jail time, significant fines and significant time without a driver’s license.

What are the penalties for a second DUI conviction?

Drivers with a previous DUI conviction face more serious penalties if they are charged with another DUI within ten years. These penalties include:

  • Fines—A fine in San Diego county is over $2500.00
  • Jail time and probation—Drivers will spend between 90 days and one year in jail.  There is a MANDATORY four days of jail.  This is the key term to avoid.
  • License suspension—The Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend drivers’ licenses for two years.  This is a very important term prepare for.  You want to prepare so you can keep on the road.

Depending on whether the sentence involves probation, the court may require drivers to complete an alcohol or drug program.

You want to be proactive and contact The Law Offices of Mark Deniz.  Mark Deniz was a former prosecutor for almost 10 years.  Call us at (858) 751-4384.

What are the penalties for a third DUI conviction?

Further DUI convictions can result in a significantly longer time in jail or off the road. These penalties include:

  • Fines—Drivers with two prior DUI convictions will pay a fine over $3000.00. The court may also order drivers to pay additional fines.
  • Jail time and probation—Drivers will spend between 120 days and one year in county jail.  If you are proactive, you can avoid jail.
  • License suspension or revocation—The DMV will suspend drivers’ licenses for three years.  Like above, you want to be proactive to keep you on the road.

The court will also declare the driver a habitual traffic offender for three years.  You want to be proactive and contact The Law Offices of Mark Deniz.  Mark Deniz was a former prosecutor for almost 10 years.  Call us at (858) 751-4384.

What are the penalties for a fourth DUI conviction?

If a driver has three or more prior DUI convictions in a 10-year period, they can automatically face felony DUI charges instead of misdemeanor charges

  • Fines—At this point, the fine is several thousands of dollars.
  • Jail time and probation— Drivers will spend between 180 days and one year in county jail or time in California state prison.  You do not want a felony on your record.
  • License suspension or revocation—The DMV will suspend drivers’ licenses for four years.

Whether you have prior DUI convictions on your record or this is your first time facing charges, defending yourself is key to protecting your rights and your freedom. Speak to an experienced attorney to begin building your case as soon as possible.

You want to be proactive and contact The Law Offices of Mark Deniz.  Mark Deniz was a former prosecutor for almost 10 years.  Call us at (858) 751-4384.

FindLaw Network