858-429-9982 858-429-9982
  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

    Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

    Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

    Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  2. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

    Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

    Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

    The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  3. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

    Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

    Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

    The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  4. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

  2. Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

  3. Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

  4. Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  5. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

  6. Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

  7. Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

  8. The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  9. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  10. Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

  11. Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

  12. The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  13. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

  14. Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

How to handle a San Diego DUI when you live out the state

Many people arrested for DUIs do not live the state of California.  Good news...in most cases an experienced DUI attorney can assist you without you having to come back to San Diego.  If you have the paperwork in order an attorney from our firm can go to court on your behalf.  We also can communicate to each other even if there is a distance.  Call our office now for a free consultation at (858) 751-4384.

San Diego is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the United States. People from out of state come to San Diego to visit the beaches, attend conventions, and the numerous other activities that make San Diego a destination. However, someone can run into an unfortunate situation while visiting that got law enforcement involved. If this happens do not hesitate to call the Law Offices of Mark Deniz at 858-751-4384 for a free case evaluation.

San Diego 9.jpg

Licensing Issues

If you are arrested for a San Diego DUI, but your license was issued by a state other than California, the police cannot take away your driver's license. However, that does not mean you can simply ignore your DUI charge. Even if you are licensed in another state, the California DMV will suspend you in California and this will likely be reported back to your licensing state through an agreement the various states have with each other (the Interstate Driver's License Compact (IDLC)), with the exception for license issuing states of Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, Wisconsin, or Wyoming.

Since the IDLC reports back to a driver's home state, drivers who are arrested for a DUI in San Diego can suffer suspension or revocation of their driving privileges in their home state. Some states will apply the same penalties as California, others will enhance any penalties and fines imposed by the DMV and California courts. Some states do not recognize a DUI conviction or suspension unless it meets the same terms as a DUI in that home state.

If you live in another state, but get a San Diego, you should contact the Law Offices of Mark Deniz at 858-751-4384 for a free case evaluation.

Moving From San Diego To Another State

Someone may have pled guilty to a DUI and for a variety of reasons moved out of state. What do you do? People are scared that they will be forced to stay in the area to complete the programs necessary for a DUI. If you currently have an SR-22 and move to another state, you must maintain the SR-22 as though you still live in California. Also, your insurance policy for your new state must have liability minimums as required by law in California. This applies even if you move to a state that does not have SR-22 insurance, such as: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania.

Scenario: You get a DUI in California -- then move to another state where you satisfy the terms of your court ordered probation by waiting out the suspension period and compeleting an out-of-state DUI Program. You then find that regardless of whether you move back to California, no DMV in the country will give you driver's license. What are your options?

Answer: You have two options (1) stay in California and complete the alcohol classes, or (2) move to another state and waive your "privilege" to drive in California.

So long as you live in California, Calfiornia DMV will never accept completion of an alcohol class from another state. The class must be taken in California even if the court accepted an out-of-state program in satisfaction of probation.

Note: DMV & Court are separate.

If you move out-of-state, you can call DMV Mandatory Actions Unit in Sacramento, California, at (916) 657-6525 and ask for a "1650 waiver packet." They will only mail this packet to the licensee at an out-of-state address (you will also have to prove you live out-of-state with a utility bill or such). This waiver allows out-of-state licensees to drive in California, but does not allow the out-of-state licensee to acquire a California license within 3 years of filing the waiver. One can only qualify for the 1650 waiver once in a lifetime as of March of 2005. The 1650 Waiver removes the California hold, assuming an SR22 is also on file with DMV. If you come back to California within 3-years and want your license back, you will have to take the applicable California DUIP class.

You may apply for Termination of California DMV's Suspension Action based on Out of State Residency. Please note, you are giving up your CA driver's license and may need to complete requirements if you decide to apply for CA drivers license at a later time. Basically you will not be able to drive in California for three years, and you must file the forms or you'll never be able to drive in California again, even on a valid out-of-state license

You have to contact Mandatory Unit and order the 1650 Waiver form and DL 300 from DMV at (916) 657-6576 or Fax (916) 657-5942.

You will also need to provide an SR-22 and affirm that you will not return to California for three years. That's the only way to avoid doing the alcohol program in California.

If you live out of state and receive a DUI in California while visiting the state, or you have a California driver's license and then move to another state, then you may have a challenge satisfying the terms set forth by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to remove the hold on your driving privileges.

Generally, the Court will allow you to enroll in and complete an out of state comparable alcohol program to meet the Court's requirement that you complete an alcohol education class; unfortunately, that out of state class will not satisfy the California DMV's requirement regarding licensing. The DMV will only accept alcohol programs completed in California. In other words, there will be a DMV hold placed on your California license or California Index Number and you will lose your privilege to drive in the state until that alcohol program is completed in California.

The good news is that there is an option to remove the hold and allow you to drive in the state. You can complete a once in a life time 1650 Waiver Packet which if granted, allows an individual with an out of state license to drive in California. Should the 1650 waiver be granted, then it would not allow the person to obtain a California license within 3 years of filing the waiver. You can contact the Mandatory Actions Unit of the DMV in Sacramento to request the application for this waiver. You will have to prove that you live out of state by providing a utility bill or another official document showing proof of residency in another state as a part of the application packet. As of March 2005, you are only eligible for the 1650 waiver one time only. This waiver will remove the California hold from your license or index number as long as you have an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) on file with the DMV. It is important to note that if you move back to California within three years from your conviction date that you will have to complete another alcohol program here in order to receive a California license again.

A little more about the 1650 Waiver

Termination of California DMV's Suspension Action based on Out of State Residency. Please note, you are giving up your CA driver's license and may need to complete requirements if you decide to apply for CA drivers license at a later time. Basically you will not be able to drive in California for three years, and you must file the forms or you'll never be able to drive in California again, even on a valid out-of-state license

You have to contact Mandatory Unit and order the 1650 Waiver form and DL 300 from DMV at
Tel. (916) 657-6576 or Fax (916) 657-5942.

If you are an out of state resident and was arrested for a San Diego county DUI you should call the Law Offices of Mark Deniz now for a free consultation at (858) 751-4384.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Latest, Proven Results

Outcome of Case: Dismissed

Felony Domestic Violence   
August 2017

Outcome of Case: Dismissed

DUI   
August 2017

Outcome of Case: Wet Reckless

DUI with a BAC of .13%. 
August 2017

Protect Your License