858-429-9982 858-429-9982
  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

    Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

    Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

    Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  2. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

    Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

    Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

    The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  3. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

    Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

    Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

    The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  4. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  1. Mark Deniz has been a member of the California State bar for over 11 years.

  2. Mark is involved with the San Diego Bar Association serving on its legal panel.

  3. Due to his legal experience Mark Deniz has the privilege of serving on several attorney panels.

  4. Mark Deniz is a top contributor on Avvo providing outstanding legal advice. Mark Deniz also serves on the Avvo Legal Panel. The only San Diego Criminal Defense attorney who is on the panel.

  5. Mark Deniz is a member of California DUI Lawyers Association.

  6. Nation's Premier | NACDA | Top Ten Ranking 2014

    Mark Deniz has been named one of The National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys “Top 10” Attorneys.

  7. Mark Deniz has been deemed by The Lead Counsel Rating for providing exceptional legal representation to individuals and businesses.

  8. The firm is a member of the better business bureau who ensures quality service for its clients.

  9. The National Trial Lawyers - Top 100 Trial Lawyers

    Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

  10. Mark Deniz is a member of the prestigious National College for DUI defense and has completed its intensive summer session curriculum conducted at Harvard Law School.

  11. Mark Deniz has received AVVO’s prestigious Clients’ Choice award

  12. The prestigious legal rating service AVVO has consistently given Law Offices of Mark Deniz a "Superb" rating.

  13. Proudly Serving the Community Service 2003

    Mark Deniz has proudly served as a member of the California state bar since 2003.

  14. Mark Deniz has consistently been named one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers.

Defending the Hit and Run charge in San Diego. Battling the "DUI that got away" perception. San Diego Hit and Run Lawyer Attorney explains. VC 20002(a) VC 20002(b)

As a former senior prosecutor of almost 10 years, Hit and Run charges have one of the most varied ranges of what could happen in a given case. Some hit and run charges get resolved with a ticket, while others have jail as a possibility with the prosecutors using "live ammo." You want to make sure you take a San Diego hit and run seriously, so start by calling the Law Offices of Mark Deniz APLC at (858) 751-4384.

The prosecution often believes that the driver left to avoid a San Diego DUI, a suspended license, or other crime. When they are determining their offer and proposed punishment, they like to add that "your client got away with a DUI" or something like that, even when there is no evidence to the fact.

The key is to examine the case and find the defenses. It begins with determining if the prosecution can prove a San Diego County hit and run.

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 7.26.14 AM.png

What exactly are a hit and run? VC 20002(a) or VC 20002(B).

When you are in an accident, you are supposed to immediately and safely pull over to a spot that does not impede traffic, locate the other driver, and exchange information with other people involved in the accident. This information includes your name, current address, driver's license if requested, insurance information, and the name and address of the current registered owner of the vehicle if it is not you. This is required even if you are not at fault. If the other party is not around, for example, if you hit a parked car, you are supposed to leave a note in a conspicuous place with that same information, including a statement of what happened, and you must contact the police. If you fail to do any one of these things, you may be charged with a hit and run. Call the Law Offices of Mark Deniz APLC to get the ball rolling at (858) 751-4384.

Depending on the circumstances of your case, there may be facts in your favor, for example, if no one saw you driving, or if the accident caused you to have symptoms, say if you were injured in the accident, usually attributable to driving under the influence like swerving.

Consequences

With a hit and run charge, the prosecution will seek additional consequence because they feel the person, "got away with other crimes," even when there is no evidence. While the prosecution may ask for these types of consequences, it is ultimately up to the judge to decide whether to impose them, and you will have a chance to argue against imposing these conditions.

Conclusion

It may be uneasy to be charged with a hit and run here in San Diego, but these cases can be defensible. It is important to get a San Diego DUI Attorney who knows all of the issues that may arise in your case, and is able to proactively address these issues.

If you or a loved one has been charged with a hit and run, be proactive today and call our office at (858) 751-4384.

Here is more information about the Hit and Run charge:

You've been in a traffic accident in San Diego, and maybe it wasn't your fault. You may have panicked, or didn't know where to stop or who to contact, and you left the scene of a collision without exchanging information with the other driver. Maybe you felt like you had to get out of the situation. Heck, you may not have even realized an accident occurred. What do you do now? Call Attorney Mark Deniz at (858) 751-4384.

San Diego Hit and Run Attorney Mark Deniz has represented many clients facing local hit and run charges. He is familiar with the differences of court strategies and approaches for hit and run cases in San Diego. He is familiar with the applicable law, effective strategies for hit and run charges, and, in many situations, works on resolving them "civilly," before any criminal charges being filed. Significantly, this "civil" option may only be available for a short time, when the law enforcement agency has not fully completed their case investigation.

Hit and run cases can occur for many different reasons. Don't make your situation worse by trying to resolve it on your own. Call the Law Offices of Mark Deniz to find out how he can help you start the process of resolving your situation at 858-751-4384, now!

California Vehicle Code sections 20001(a) and 20002, which apply to hit and run incidents in San Diego indicate that "The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to any person, or in the death of a person, shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident." If a person violates the law, they are subject to jail time and up to $10,000 in fines. If the hit and run accident results in death or serious injury, the violator is subject to prison time and large fines, and substantial restitution orders. Mark Deniz has handled these matters on an everyday basis.

Depending on the severity of a traffic incident, the accused person's criminal record, and whether the traffic accident caused a person to be injured - a hit and run charge in San Diego can be filed as either a felony or misdemeanor. Minor hit and run accidents with minimal property damage and no physical injuries are typically charged as misdemeanor hit and run. If a hit and run accident result in bodily injury or death, a case will generally be filed as a hit and run felony.

Felony hit and run cases are typically punished more severely than misdemeanor violations. Jail time and fines vary in hit and run cases, taking into consideration the specific facts of each case.

You should never represent yourself in any misdemeanor or felony hit and run investigation. Your first step is to seek immediate representation from a San Diego hit and run attorney.

If you or someone you love is facing hit and run charges, contact San Diego Hit and Run Attorney Mark Deniz, at 858-751-4384, for a free case evaluation.

20001. (a) The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of a person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident and shall fulfill the requirements of Sections 20003 and 20004. (b) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), a person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine. (2) If the accident described in subdivision (a) results in death or permanent, serious injury, a person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than 90 days nor more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine. However, the court, in the interests of justice and for reasons stated in the record, may reduce or eliminate the minimum imprisonment required by this paragraph. (3) In imposing the minimum fine required by this subdivision, the court shall take into consideration the defendant's ability to pay the fine and, in the interests of justice and for reasons stated in the record, may reduce the amount of that minimum fine to less than the amount otherwise required by this subdivision. (c) A person who flees the scene of the crime after committing a violation of Section 191.5 of, or paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 192 of the Penal Code, upon conviction of any of those sections, in addition and consecutive to the punishment prescribed, shall be punished by an additional term of imprisonment of five years in the state prison. This additional term shall not be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the trier of fact. The court shall not strike a finding that brings a person within the provisions of this subdivision or an allegation made pursuant to this subdivision. (d) As used in this section, "permanent, serious injury" means the loss or permanent impairment of function of a bodily member or organ. 20002. (a) The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to any property, including vehicles, shall immediately stop the vehicle at the nearest location that will not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists. Moving the vehicle in accordance with this subdivision does not affect the question of fault. The driver shall also immediately do either of the following: (1) Locate and notify the owner or person in charge of that property of the name and address of the driver and owner of the vehicle involved and, upon locating the driver of any other vehicle involved or the owner or person in charge of any damaged property, upon being requested, present his or her driver's license, and vehicle registration, to the other driver, property owner, or person in charge of that property. The information presented shall include the current residence address of the driver and of the registered owner. If the registered owner of an involved vehicle is present at the scene, he or she shall also, upon request, present his or her driver's license information, if available, or other valid identification to the other involved parties. (2) Leave in a conspicuous place on the vehicle or other property damaged a written notice giving the name and address of the driver and of the owner of the vehicle involved and a statement of the circumstances thereof and shall without unnecessary delay notify the police department of the city wherein the collision occurred or, if the collision occurred in unincorporated territory, the local headquarters of the Department of the California Highway Patrol. (b) Any person who parks a vehicle which, prior to the vehicle again being driven, becomes a runaway vehicle and is involved in an accident resulting in damage to any property, attended or unattended, shall comply with the requirements of this section relating to notification and reporting and shall, upon conviction thereof, be liable to the penalties of this section for failure to comply with the requirements. (c) Any person failing to comply with all the requirements of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

Contact the Law Office of Mark Deniz now for a free case evaluation at 858-751-4384

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Latest, Proven Results

Outcome of Case: Wet Reckless

1st time DUI Collision with a .13% BAC  
November 2017

Outcome of Case: Case Dismissed

1st time DUI with a .18% BAC
November 2017

Outcome of Case: Misdemeanor (No time in custody)

Felony Burglary
November 2017

Protect Your License