We remain open and steadfast in our commitment to helping our clients during these difficult days.

Proven Approach With Results Forged Through Experience

Image of attorney Mark L. Deniz

San Diego Theft Defense Attorney. Get the case potentially dismissed. Former San Diego Prosecutor talks about theft crimes in San Diego. PC 484, PC 487, PC 503 Penal CodeTheft, embezzlement charges.

by | Jun 15, 2020 | General Criminal Defense |

Burglary & Petty Or Grand Theft & Prop 47 Charges

Burglary is codified in Penal Code Section 459 and is defined as entering a structure with the intent to commit a larceny or any felony therein. It is a common charge in San Diego. Burglary is commonly referred to as breaking and entering; however, prosecutors often charge burglary in cases involving no actual breaking. For example, if you are accused of stealing merchandise from a retail store, you could be charged with commercial burglary in addition to theft. Burglary carries a wide range of charges from a 6-year state prison sentence to a misdemeanor. If you are facing burglary charges, it is important to hire an attorney immediately. Burglary charges can often be reduced or dismissed entirely due to lack of evidence in one or more of the elements necessary to obtain a conviction for burglary. At The Law Offices of Mark Deniz APLC, we take a proactive approach with your case. The facts can be presented that there was a big misunderstanding. Things are not always what they appear to be at the outset.

Common San Diego Theft Charges

Some of the most frequently occurring types of theft cases are:

Grand theft: Grand theft in California is generally theft in an amount of more than $950. A theft above the $950 amount may be filed as either a misdemeanor or felony, depending on a person’s criminal history, circumstances of the case as well as prosecuting agency’s internal filing policies. If convicted of grand theft, a person can face up to three years in custody. If the amount of theft is over $50,000, a person faces enhancements of one to two additional years in prison. These factors make it especially important to have the representation of San Diego theft attorney Mark Deniz.

Petty theft/shoplifting: A petty theft is generally theft in an amount of $950 or less. If a person has no criminal history, a San Diego petty theft is often charged as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor petty theft conviction can result in six months’ jail time and fines of $1,000 plus penalty assessment and fees. Under recent California law, if a person has been convicted of three prior petty theft violations, and is charged with a fourth violation, the fourth violation can be charged as a felony.

Petty Theft Attorney

Petty theft is a charge that is very common in San Diego. It can be someone accidentally walking out of a Mission Valley store with an item while on the phone to a mother walking out of a department store distracted by her children. Because of the substantial consequences in any theft case, your first step is to contact trusted and experienced San Diego theft attorney Mark Deniz to deal with your case.

The Law Offices of Mark Deniz APLC focuses substantial efforts on first-time shoplifting and petty theft cases and makes extraordinary efforts to steer cases away from court, whenever possible, and into alternatives such as “diversion” and other programs.

Contact me, San Diego attorney Mark Deniz, today at 858-751-4384 to find out what theft case strategies may be effective for you.

Preventing A Stolen Future After A Theft Charge

A theft conviction can do more than send you to jail or leave a financial mark, but it has the possibility to steal your future if it is severe enough. At the Law Offices of Mark Deniz, our vast experience handling theft cases can be used to your benefit. If you need us, we will be there at every stage and step of the way.

Our team has the capacity, knowledge, and experience to handle all types of theft crimes, including:

  • Petty and grand theft
  • Robbery and armed robbery
  • Fraud
  • Embezzlement
  • Shoplifting
  • Receiving or selling stolen goods

No matter where you stand, we will get to work and start the fight as soon as possible.

What Are The Penalties For Shoplifting?

When a person is accused of stealing merchandise that is less than $950, they can be charged with shoplifting, also known as larceny or petty theft. Shoplifting is typically a misdemeanor in California. You may face up to six months in jail and ordered to pay $250 in fines. Previous shoplifting convictions can heighten the penalties. If a person steals merchandise that is valued at $950 or above, they may be charged with a felony and face, face a longer jail sentence, and heftier fines.

With countless results obtained in shoplifting cases for our clients, we have proven that we can pose defense strategies that work. Prosecutors must show that you had the intent to steal and that it was you who stole the item. You may have been mistakenly identified or lacked intent — and we can prove it.

The Law Offices of Mark Deniz APLC focuses substantial efforts on first-time shoplifting and petty theft cases, and makes extraordinary efforts to steer cases away from court, whenever possible, and into alternatives such as “diversion” and other programs.


FindLaw Network